New Small-Scale Fisheries Department

The Department has concluded with its preparatory work in order to launch the new small-scale fishing sector. Some of the preparation included the receipting of expression of interest forms submitted by communities. To date more than 280 communities from all four coastal provinces have registered to be part of the small-scale fishing process. It is estimated that approximately 30 000 fishers may be part of this implementation process.

The Department has also worked in partnership with UCT and fishers to develop the Abalobi app. This technology promises to be a fundamental game changer in the way fisheries are managed in South Africa and the Department is excited by the feedback received thus far from fishers that are using the app during the piloting stage. In addition some exciting modules have already been proposed to broaden the usefulness of the app from safety at sea, accounting, to marketing of product. You are welcome to follow this exciting development on www.abalobi.info.

Meet Our Team

Craig Smith - Small-Scale Fisheries Director

Craig Smith
Director
Cape Town, Western Cape
Tel.: 021 402 3344
Email: CraigS@daff.gov.za

Abongile Ngqongwa - Small-Scale Fisheries Deputy Director

Abongile Ngqongwa
Deputy Director
Cape Town, Western Cape
Tel.: 021 402 3577
Email: AbongileN@daff.gov.za

Vuyisani Jozana - Assistant Director at Small-Scale Fisheries

Vuyisani Jozana
Assistant Director
East London, Eastern Cape
Tel.: 043 742 2684
Email: VuyisaniJ@daff.gov.za

Bernacia Mullins - Assistant Director

Bernacia Mullins
Assistant Director
Cape Town, Western Cape
Tel.: 021 402 3060
Email: BernaciaM@daff.gov.za

Athandile Mtsabe - PA to Director of SSF

Athandile Mtsabe
PA to Director
Cape Town, Western Cape
Tel.: 021 402 3158
Email: AthandileM@daff.gov.za

Nozuko Ntsokota - Senior Enviromental Officer

Nozuko Ntsokota
Senior Environmental Officer
East London, Eastern Cape
Tel.: 043 742 2684
Email: NozukoN@daff.gov.za

Zanethemba Swelindawo - Enviromental Officer

Zanethemba Swelindawo
Environmental Officer
Port St Johns, Eastern Cape
Tel.: 047 564 1410
Email: ZanethembaS@daff.gov.za

Phikelele Mbonambi Enviromental Officer in Port Edward

Phikelele Mbonambi
Environmental Officer
Port Edward, KwaZulu Natal
Tel.: 039 311 1003
Email: PhikeleleM@daff.gov.za

Nkgabiseng Sejosengoe - Senior Admin Clerk

Nkgabiseng Sejosengoe
Senior Admin Clerk
Cape Town, Western Cape
Tel.: 021 402 3726
Email: NkgabisengS@daff.gov.za

Lwando Dayimani - Senior Admin Clerk

Lwando Dayimani
Senior Admin Clerk
Cape Town, Western Cape
Tel.: 021 402 3045
Email: LwandoD@daff.gov.za